DONEGAL FOOTBALL CLUB of BOSTON

DONEGAL FOOTBALL CLUB

of Boston

The first Donegal team was formed in Boston in the fifties. It composed mostly of players from Donegal. It got a lot of support from the Donegal Association. This is a report from a meeting in Roxbury May 7th, 1950 from the County Donegal Benevolent Association of Greater Boston, Evangeline Hall, Intercolonial Building, 214 Dudley St, Roxbury, MA.

A report was given about the activities of the Donegal Football Club. They practiced in Columbia Park, South Boston. They played a game in Dill Boy Field, Somerville. Michael Lynch said that the Donegal Association wanted the football club to continue the move, and Frank McDevitt seconded that, that a committee of three be appointed by the President to get in touch with the football players and call a meeting. The hall would be selected by the football club. The President appointed the following as the committee: Frank McDevitt, Michael Lynch and John P. McElhinney.

The present Donegal team was formed in 1988. The first committee consisted of Eamon McGinley, Ricky Rush, Jackie Rush, Manus McFadden, Anthony O'Malley, and Paddy McDevitt.

To date we have won: Boston Junior 1988, Boston Intermediate 1994, Boston Intermediate 1995, and North America 1995.

Since the formation of the club, two members who did a lot of work for the club have passed away, Pauric Gallagher and Maureen Doherty.

The present Donegal GAA committee members are:

Chairman: Paddy McDevitt

Vice Chairman: Dominic McGlinchey

Secretary: Andrea Melaugh

Vice Secretary: Anthony McCroary

Treasurer: David Turner Vice Treasurer: Ricky Rush Register: Gareth Ruddy

Vice Register: Donnchadh O'Flanagan

Delegates: Cruthar Boyle, Manus McFadden, Michael McGinty

PRO: Andrea Melaugh

Honorary President: Connie McElaney Senior Manager: Manus McFadden Junior Manager: Seamus Doherty

Down through the years since 1988 the Donegal club has been made up of players from Donegal, Ulster, Leinster, Connacht & Munster. Since then a lot of our players have moved on, moved back to Ireland or have retired. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our players, supporters and sponsors, who have given great loyalty, determination and a will to win down through the years. We may not have a lot of silverware but have a lot of treasured memories and have made a lot of great friends on and off the field. We look forward to the coming years and especially our new GAA home in Canton.



1999 DONEGAL FOOTBALL CLUB OF BOSTON - JUNIOR TEAM

Back Row (L to R): Manus McFadden, Seamus Doherty, Barry Brown, Aidan Foley, Kieran McMullen, Tony Walsh, Ryan Dorrian, Gareth Ruddy, Steven McCann, Lawrence Gallagher, Eunan Quinn Front Row (L to R): Paddy McDevitt, Anthony McCroary, Sean McLaughlin, Colm McCann, Dermot Gallagher, Cruthar Boyle, Martin McArdle, David Turner, Vernon Murphy, Fergal McCrane



1999 DONEGAL FOOTBALL CLUB OF BOSTON - SENIOR TEAM

Back Row (L to R): George Kelly, Seamus Doherty, Gary Gormley, Dermot Ward, Colm Campbell,
 Michael McGinty, David Greene, Hugh Campbell, John Hirrell, John Doherty, Michael Ward, Manus McFadden
 Front Row (L to R): Paddy McDevitt, Lawrence Gallagher, Dominic McGlinchey, Brian Gavigan,
 Michael O'Donnell, Ricky Rush, Martin McLaughlin, Brian Arrigan, Sean McLaughlin