## BOSTON MAYO FOOTBALL CLUB of BOSTON

## BOSTON MAYO GAELIC FOOTBALL CLUB of Boston

The Mayo Gaelic Football Club of Boston was started up in 1990 by Oliver Dempsey (Knockmore), Gus Joyce (Westport), Paric O Grady(Louisburgh), Mike O Grady (Louisburgh) and Brian O Driscoll(Cork). In its 10 years establishment the club has been very successful winning both intermediate and senior championship titles.

After only two years the club won it's first silverware, by winning the intermediate championship. The following year 1993 they regained the title with such names as Armagh's Diarmuid Marsen last years Ulsters player of the year and All star winner alongside fellow county player Declan Toner.

Mayo's finest year to date was in 1995 after winning the senior title over a strongly fancied Cork team with the help of Ballina's own Liam Mc Hale and Barry Heffernan, also Brian Mc Stay(Ballina) and Kevin Comer (Eastern Gaels and All Ireland Junior winner '97) both of whom still play to date.

In recent years Mayo has fielded strong teams in both senior and junior levels keeping well in touch with ever changing competition here in Boston. Last year Mayo started the year very strongly with early wins, mid season however we struggled with injuries and found ourselves in a do or die situation with Kerry going in to lift the cup. Our junior squad also did us proud making the playoffs showing great heart and determination through out the year.

2000 and ten years later Mayo are still contigents later this year see us celebrating our tenth anniversary lots of changes since that first club meeting but still the same attitude.



**BOSTON MAYO INTERMEDIATE CHAMPIONS 1992** 



**BOSTON MAYO INTERMEDIATE CHAMPIONS 1993** 

## Mayo Senior Champions: Boston'95



Back Row Left to Right: Brian Heffernan Derek Leonard (Manager)
Chip Greenberg Eddie Casey Michael Mc Caffrey Kevin Comer Kieran Casey
Garay Woods John Donnellan Paddy Clarke Brian Mc Stay Liam Mc Hale
Padraig O' Grady (Chairman G.A.A. club)
front row(It to Rt) Michael Gallagher Franco Duffy Dara O'Brien
Jerry Rowley Sean Cassidy Enda Cushnahan Mark Rowland
Sean Clare John Hannah