SHANNON BLUES FOOTBALL CLUB

SHANNON BLUES FOOTBALL CLUB HISTORY

Twenty five years ago members of the former Springfield-Boston Football Club met to form a new club that would join the existing teams in the New England GAA. Unlike other well-established clubs named after specific counties and having a majority of players with ties to that county, this new club had an identity crisis. No more than three or four members came from the same province, let alone the same county. The name Shannon Blues was derived from the color of the team's jersey and the Shannon River, which flows through many of the counties the members called home.

The primary reason for forming the club was to retain the friendships that were formed during the years with the Springfield-Boston team. While football was the driving force of the club, the members found other activities such as bowling, basketball, darts and card games to meet and enjoy each other's company. The Blues seem to grow stronger with each passing year, as winning both the New England GAA's Junior and Senior Football Championship for 1999 indicates. Today, the football is being played by a new generation and the founding members of the club have hung up their boots but the friendship and common purpose that founded the Shannon Blues is alive and well. The Shannon Blues have much to be proud of in their twenty five year history, winning 10 championships in twenty five years. Some other club highlights are as follows:

- First New England GAA Club to have a woman President Martha Flaherty, 1977
- First Woman to hold an office on the New England Board Bridie Fitzgerald, 1975
- Ladies Football Team
- Junior Championships '77, '79, '80, '81,'98,'99
- Senior Championships -'85,'87,'90, '99
- Most Points scored in a game by a single player in the New England GAA 32 (7 goals, 11 points) Liam O'Brien, 1977
- 2 Dart Teams in 1980's Emerald Isle Blues
- Corned Beef and Cabbage Dinners
- Established Minor Team Jamaica Plain Shamrocks, 1976
- Played football matches in Ireland, 1982
- Active participants in the Rose of Tralee Pageants



1977 NEW ENGLAND JUNIOR CHAMPIONS

Front Row (Sitting): Mike Moriarty, Bill McGowan, Paul Galvin, Colum Kane, Capt. Liam O'Brian
2nd Row (Kneeling): Richie Moriarty, Paul Keenan, John Sullivan, Kevin Kelliher, Tommy Fitzgerald, Tom Kane, Mickey Coyne, Owen Sullivan
Back Row: Paddy Moriarty, Billy Moyles, Martin Coyne, Mike Healy, Tom Foley, Bill Kerr, Joe Lydon, Joe Leber, James (Smiley) Shecheck, Michael Kennedy, Pat Healy - Manager Tommy Murphy is missing from this panel.

Shannon Blues 1998 NEW ENGLAND JUNIOR CHAMPIONS

Back Row (left to right): Sean Moyles, Billy Brennan, John Murtaigh, John Byrne, Mick Maher, Jeff Sullivan, Denis McNamara, Enda Kiernan, Noel Cannon, Colin McGovern, Mike Folan, Sean McDonagh

Front Row (left to right): Shane O'Neill, Kieren Brennan, Malcolm McLake, Paul O'Loughlin, Fergal Walsh, Jarlath Tolan, Sean McBride, Shane McElwie, Gabriel Jones, Tony Walsh, Joe Moriarity



 Back Row (left to right): Michael Fitzmorris, Tom Kilcullen, Mike McPhillips, Padraig Mullen, Jarlath Tolan, Kevin Brett, Johnny Moriarity, Paul Webb,
 Barry Maguire, Brendon Tierney, Declan Keavney, Ciaran Maher, Seamus Coyne, John Donnellan, John Loftus

Front Row (left to right): Mickey Coyne, Ivan Ahern, Joe Newell, Sean Clarke, Tony Walsh, Gerry Rowley, Joe Moriarity, Ulick Leonard, Martin Coyne, Noel Finn